PARLIAMENTARY CATERING

Vanessa Harcourt Executive Chef Profile Image

Executive Chef, Vanessa Harcourt and her talented culinary team bring a wealth of experience to Parliament House.  The freshly prepared menus showcase modern Australian cuisines and feature a wide variety of seasonal produce sourced from throughout regional & rural New South Wales. Amongst the many local delicacies on the menus include Central Coast figs and finger limes, Clarence River prawns, tasty Leppington burrata and freshly shucked oysters from Batemans Bay. Read more in Spice News Leader Forum – February 2018 Issue

Testimonials

Customer feedback is independently provided by Resdiary (a global online reservation reservation platform).

The Industry benchmark for excellent is 4 / 5, the venue target is 4.5 / 5. The current average score for Strangers’ Restaurant is 4.8 / 5.

The ratings are based on: Food & Drink, Atmosphere, Service and Value for Money.

Feedback is provided by those who have dined at the restaurant. A survey email is sent one day after a guest has dined at the venue.

Rating: 

Strangers’ Restaurant is open on Monday to Friday from 12:00 pm to 3:00 pm. Bookings are essential.

Book Now
4
Reviewed by Meg on Sunday, 3 July 2022 at 11:48 AM
Visited on Wednesday, 29 June 2022 at 12:00 PM

Disappointed with the duck which I had highly recommended to my relatives following my last meal at the restaurant. Previously on 26/5/2022 the duck confit had been so tender and practically falling off the bone but this time quite tough. For my own taste I did enjoy the Terrine on the previous occasion but know the menu changes and good to try other options, definitely not available in our kitchen. Nick was very attentive but feel the restaurant was short staffed on the day. My cousins and I are regulars.

5
Reviewed by James on Sunday, 3 July 2022 at 2:27 PM
Visited on Friday, 1 July 2022 at 1:00 PM

There was a lady from Mongolia called Eva who really looked after us. we all said we will be back and this time spend some time looking at all the history on the way in.

5
Reviewed on Monday, 27 June 2022 at 11:44 AM
Visited on Friday, 24 June 2022 at 12:30 PM

My husband and I enjoyed the delicious High Tea! The service was attentive and the pianist created a relaxing atmosphere. We look forward to coming again.

5
Reviewed on Friday, 24 June 2022 at 11:30 AM
Visited on Friday, 17 June 2022 at 12:00 PM

TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN
It was indeed a memorable experience last Friday, 17th June 2022 when I joined with my Legacy Family at the New South Wales Parliament House, (and indeed the first and oldest Parliament House in Australia), for a High Tea. To think that I first stepped into my State’s Parliament House for the very first time at the Legacy High Tea at the age of eighty. I certainly was impressed with what I beheld. The marriage of the historic building with new was a real surprise and beautifully executed.

5
Reviewed on Wednesday, 22 June 2022 at 6:49 PM
Visited on Friday, 3 June 2022 at 12:00 PM

Pianist was excellent – soft, melodic music as background.

5
Reviewed by Kerrie on Monday, 20 June 2022 at 8:48 PM
Visited on Friday, 17 June 2022 at 12:00 PM

We had a lovely High Tea experience…a birthday celebration. All the staff were pleasant and helpful. The piano player a nice touch. The outlook was pretty and to top it off the tour was informative and interesting. The guides knew their ‘stuff’ and had a sense of humour.

3
Reviewed on Monday, 20 June 2022 at 3:09 PM
Visited on Friday, 17 June 2022 at 1:30 PM

After a wonderful previous experience, (a 12.00 session) I had booked a 1.30 High Tea and I was very disappointed. For me, one of the highlights was the piano, but it stopped shortly after we arrived at 1.30. It was clear there was a staff shortage, so we didn’t have the same attention as we did for the 12.00 session, although the food was just as nice. I would not book the 1.30 session again.

5
Reviewed by Liam on Sunday, 19 June 2022 at 1:48 PM
Visited on Friday, 17 June 2022 at 12:30 PM

Our group consisted of 14 Seniors & all were extremely impressed with the professional service, amazing food & wonderful atmosphere they experienced at Strangers Restaurant.

4.5
Reviewed by Sylvia on Saturday, 18 June 2022 at 3:59 PM
Visited on Friday, 10 June 2022 at 1:00 PM

It would be great if there was a screen around the last table near the cutlery, so it’s more private.

5
Reviewed by Janet on Tuesday, 14 June 2022 at 9:03 AM
Visited on Friday, 10 June 2022 at 12:00 PM

Really enjoyed our experience. Excellent service and the choice of savouries and sweets were delicious, especially the lemonade scones and home made Strawberry Jam. Atmosphere was lovely too overlooking the gardens. I would definitely recommend Strangers Restaurant to those looking for a quiet, calm and unique dining experience.

1 2 3 26