NSW Legislative Assembly

The Lower House

The Legislative Assembly, also known as the lower house was the first fully elected legislature in Australia, with its Members being directly elected since 1856. Today the House comprises 93 Members, each representing an electorate of the State.

These short videos provide an insight into the history and operations of the Legislative Assembly of New South Wales.

The role of the Legislative Assembly

In the video below, Members of the Legislative Assembly discuss their role as elected representatives of New South Wales.

Tour of the Legislative Assembly Chamber – Part 1

Tour of the Legislative Assembly Chamber – Part 2

Awards & Certificates

Newsletter Sign up

Sign up for exclusive offers

New South Wales
Parliament House
6 Macquarie Street
Sydney NSW 2000
(02) 9230 2124

Security protocols apply
Privacy Policy
Gift Shop Terms & Conditions
Restaurant Terms & Conditions
Allergen Disclaimer
Function Hire Terms & Conditions
Function Payments
How to get here
Nearby car parking and hotels