Testimonials

Ratings & Reviews

Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking can leave a review.

Rating: 

  • 5 Excellent | 4 Good | 3 Satisfied | 2 Dissatisfied 1 Poor

Average Score: 5

Reviewed by Mark on Thursday, 6 August 2020 at 1:34 PM

Visited on Tuesday, 4 August 2020 at 12:30 PM

Review: Excellent food and service

Average Score: 4.8

Reviewed by Melinda on Sunday, 15 March 2020 at 7:51 PM

Visited on Friday, 13 March 2020 at 12:15 PM

Review: Service was excellent and the meal delicious. Very decent portions as well.

Average Score: 4.8

Reviewed by Christine on Friday, 13 March 2020 at 9:35 AM

Visited on Tuesday, 10 March 2020 at 12:30 PM

Review: Excellent service, delicious food and wine, great view. Will definitely be back!

Average Score: 4.7

Reviewed by Julie on Wednesday, 11 March 2020 at 2:56 PM

Visited on Monday, 9 March 2020 at 12:00 PM

Review: An excellent meal in auspicious surroundings – the perfect place to take overseas guests. Food and wine were excellent as was the service.

Average Score: 4.6

Reviewed by Greg on Wednesday, 11 March 2020 at 2:49 PM

Visited on Monday, 9 March 2020 at 12:30 PM

Review: Thank you so much for a delightful lunch. Everything was just right and the meals were was excellent.

Average Score: 4.8

Reviewed by Brian on Monday, 9 March 2020 at 11:32 PM

Visited on Friday, 6 March 2020 at 12:15 PM

Review: A most enjoyable and satisfying dining experience for the six of us who formed our party.

Average Score: 5

Reviewed by Cheryl on Sunday, 8 March 2020 at 1:59 PM

Visited on Friday, 6 March 2020 at 12:30 PM

Review: Staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. Food was lovely, would definitely revisit and have been recommending to friends.

Average Score: 4.2

Reviewed by Albert on Wednesday, 4 March 2020 at 3:05 PM

Visited on Monday, 2 March 2020 at 12:00 PM

Review: Your service staff, female from Thailand was very hospitable and attended to us professionally. We are three siblings who have lived in Australia since late 1960s and took the opportunity to celebrate our father’s birthday at the Parliament House. He would have loved to have dined at your restaurant.

Average Score: 3.8

Reviewed by Rohan on Monday, 2 March 2020 at 10:10 AM

Visited on Friday, 28 February 2020 at 1:00 PM

Review: Lunch last week at the Strangers was great, though it took the food a little while to come out, which is understandable because the restaurant was very busy.

Average Score: 4.8

Reviewed by Margot on Tuesday, 25 February 2020 at 11:20 PM

Visited on Friday, 21 February 2020 at 12:00 PM

Review: The Afternoon/High Tea my friends and I had at the Strangers Dining Room was one of the best we have had in Sydney. Everything was freshly made that day and all very delicious. The view out onto the park is beautiful from any table. I have had afternoon tea at many locations in Sydney and this was a stand out. Just a few things though – We were given a 2 hour time slot for our booking and I think that is not enough time to enjoy the experience fully. Although there was plenty of variety there was only one finger sandwich each which could be seen by some as not quite enough. Overall a delicious enjoyable High Tea. Thank You

Average Score: 4.57

Reviewed by Helen on Sunday, 23 February 2020 at 3:18 PM

Visited on Friday, 21 February 2020 at 12:30 PM

Review: A wonderful way to celebrate 2 birthdays. Friendly relaxed atmosphere with amazing delights and made to feel special . certainly recommend.

Average Score: 5

Reviewed by Lynda on Saturday, 22 February 2020 at 4:00 PM

Visited on Thursday, 20 February 2020 at 12:30 PM

Review: This was a special occasion, a celebration of 25 years as volunteers at the neighboring Botanic Gardens and we were seated overlooking the Domain. Our special cake with candles (which we had brought) was served along with a plate decorated with chocolate truffles and inscribed ‘Congratulations on 25 Years”, organized as a surprise by the staff.

Average Score: 4.6

Reviewed by Phil on Wednesday, 19 February 2020 at 1:32 PM

Visited on Friday, 14 February 2020 at 1:30 PM

Review: My partner and I had our first visit to Strangers for her birthday, it won’t be the last. The food was wonderful, really good flavours that worked beautifully – my compliments to the chef and kitchen. We were well looked after. Good value as well.

Average Score: 5

Reviewed by Jenny on Thursday, 21 February 2019 at 2:43 AM

Visited on Tuesday, 19 February 2019 at 12:15 PM

Review: Lovely lunch, Emily welcomed us and Charlotte and Anong gave us fabulous service and fulfilled every request with alacrity and smiles. The food was excellent and beautifully presented.

Average Score: 4.8

Reviewed by Daniel on Thursday, 20 February 2020 at 8:30 PM

Visited on Tuesday, 18 February 2020 at 12:00 PM

Review: Everything was superb. The staff were very friendly and polite. But if they are better informed of the menu (e.g. we were not familiar with certain descriptions of the dishes and had to enquire: is this dish raw meat? or the fish pan-fried? The answer wasn’t too confident) then our dining experience would be perfect. On the whole our guests were most delighted with the restaurant. We will certainly re-visit.

Average Score: 4.7

Reviewed by Dale on Friday, 6 December 2019 at 9:42 AM

Visited on Tuesday, 3 December 2019 at 12:00 PM

Review: Acoustics excellent: we could hear each other speaking. Pleasant outlook across Domain.

Average Score: 4.9

Reviewed by Joise on Friday, 22 November 2019 at 10:09 PM

Visited on Tuesday, 19 November 2019 at 6:45 PM

Review: Christmas dinner buffet was phenomenal. The food had a great variety, was very fresh, plentiful supply and very affordable. Would highly recommend it for next year. Would love you to add more festive decorations next year – Santa looked a little lonely.

Average Score: 4.9

Reviewed by Sarah on Friday, 22 November 2019 at 12:26 PM

Visited on Friday, 1 November 2019 at 12:30 PM

Review: The high tea was absolutely lovely! The staff were wonderful, paying extra special attention to my young daughter who was with us! Thank you for the flowers! She absolutely loved them, was showing everyone on the train home! Highly recommended

Average Score: 4.9

Reviewed by Magaret on Sunday, 16 December 2018 at 11:34 PM

Visited on Thursday, 13 December 2018 at 12:00 PM

Review: The gift to my friends this year has been to treat them all to Christmas Lunch at the Strangers Restaurant on different occasions. For some it was an introduction to the experience and for others, a re-acquaintance with the place. In every instance, high praise was given to the meals they selected, the professionalism and attentiveness of the staff and the wonderful locations of both the main restaurant and alternative venue. And I am delighted to have been the giver of such a practical and memorable gift that I too was able enjoy! Thank you

Average Score: 5

Reviewed by David on Friday, 14 December 2018 at 7:20 AM

Visited on Wednesday, 12 December 2018 at 12:00 PM

Review: Always a delight. Wonderful view and so good to be able to have a conversation with each other without having to shout.

Average Score: 4.6

Reviewed by Melanie on Saturday, 15 December 2018 at 6:26 AM

Visited on Thursday, 13 December 2018 at 12:30 PM

Review: Best value in the city! peaceful, elegant dining where you can hear your companions. Our 3rd year having our Xmas lunch and no reason not to return for the 4th.

Average Score: 5

Reviewed by Isabella on Saturday, 8 December 2018 at 8:35 AM

Visited on Thursday, 6 December 2018 at 1:00 PM

Review: Sorry to take so long to give you a feedback. The ladies from the choir thoroughly enjoyed their lunch I have had positive feedback from the ladies. It was really beautiful the staff were fantastic and very professional without being over the top. I will recommend the venue to our Probus group and anyone else who will listen I will definitely be back to experience your High Tea. It was really lovely and very much appreciated.

Average Score: 5

Reviewed by Vicki on Sunday, 2 December 2018 at 4:40 AM

Visited on Friday, 30 November 2018 at 12:00 PM

Review: It was such a pleasure for me to be able to dine in the Strangers Restaurant with 27 friends. Organising such a large group has its hiccups as you know. This was our 2nd visit and happily there were no complaints!! Everyone of us appeared to thoroughly enjoy ourselves. Thank you.

Average Score: 4.9

Reviewed by Catherine on Sunday, 25 November 2018 at 4:17 AM

Review: I organised a High Tea at Parliament House for a group of 8 friends. I had been there before and so had recommended it. Everyone enjoyed it very much and we all agreed to return for a lunch in a few months time. I believe that The Strangers Restaurant is open for lunch Monday to Friday when Parliament is not sitting.

Average Score: 4.9

Reviewed by Claire on Sunday, 25 November 2018 at 4:33 AM

Review: Both my sister and my self thoroughly enjoyed our high tea on Friday we have been there before and it always makes us feel very special we will certainly return and recommend it to other people

Average Score: 4.6

Reviewed by Emma on Sunday, 18 November 2018 at 5:16 AM

Review: The food was beautiful, reasonably priced for the quality, and the service was good. A hidden gem in the midst of such a historic building on the very best street in Sydney.

Average Score: 4.8

Reviewed by Joan on Thursday, 1 November 2018 at 6:18 AM

Review: Have already recommended you. I especially like the fact that you have no blaring music. You can talk to your friends without shouting.

Average Score: 4.4

Reviewed by Margaret on Sunday, 28 October 2018 at 11:00 PM

Review: We attended for a High Tea. The ambience & service were exceptional and the food items were delicious & attractive. Just found there was not a good balance between savoury and sweet items. Would have preferred an additional savory item and less sweet.

Average Score: 3.8

Reviewed by Sally on Tuesday, 23 October 2018 at 12:09 AM

Review: Lovely view to the gardens, tasty & sufficient food, classy crockery – good value for money.

Average Score: 4.6

Reviewed by David on Sunday, 7 October 2018 at 4:43 AM

Review: Good service and food, we loved beautiful pastries and others in high teas plates. There was a big table with more than 10 people next to us for lunch, so atmosphere was a bit noisy, but so far we really enjoyed our high tea time there.

Average Score: 5

Reviewed by Yvonne on Sunday, 23 September 2018 at 3:47 AM

Review: The staff were excellent. Looked after our every need without us needing to attract their attention. The venue was great